Fipresci Home the international federation of film critics  
  about usfestival reports | awards | undercurrent   contact | site map 
home > news

subscribe mail

Subscribe to our mailing list  




Berlinale Talents 2015 — Talent Press: Call for Applications
Berlinale Talents, Goethe-Institut and FIPRESCI invite young film critics to Berlin. Young colleagues, worldwide, are invited to apply for The Talent Press, a project of the Berlinale Talents, Goethe-Institut, and FIPRESCI (the International Federation of Film Critics). Young film critics and film journalists will be invited to Berlin to report on the films at the 64th Berlin International Film Festival (February 5 – 15, 2015) and on the events of the Berlinale Talents (February 7 – 12, 2015). The call for applications for the Talent Press is now open. Details arrow.

Next European Film Awards. The procedure of looking for candidates / best European films has started. FIPRESCI proposed the European Film Academy to take six films into consideration for the "Best Film" category:
Kreuzweg (Stations of the Cross), Dietrich Brüggemann — Germany
Winter Sleep (Kis uykusu), Nuri Bilge Ceylan — Turkey
Kraftidioten (In Order of Disappearance), Hans Petter Moland — Norway
Nymphomaniac (1+2), Lars von Trier — Denmark, Germany, France, Belgium, UK
Ida, Pawel Pawlikowski — Poland, Denmark
Le Meraviglie, Alice Rohrwacher — Italy
The European Film Awards will be presented on December 13 in Riga, the capital of the Baltic Republic of Lativa.

Isabelle Danel, the French critic, will serve on the jury of "Filminute". It's a "virtual jury", composed for a virtual festival. "Filminute" invites short films of a length of one minute exactly. In the 2013 jury sat, among others, Richard Linklater, Tor Myhren, John Ketchum, and Carmen Gray from FIPRESCI. Follow the festival at

Boston. Jay Carr, member of FIPRESCI and the National Society of Film Critics, critic for the Boston Globe from 1983 to 2002, died May 15. He was 77. Read Peter Keough's obit. More arrow.

Discovery Award — Prix FIPRESCI. This prize, one of the European Film Awards, is dedicated to young cinema, to a first feature-length fiction film from Europe. Five nominations will be decided by a commission made up of members of the European Film Academy and of FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics: Ilann Girard (France), Dagmar Jacobsen (Germany), Paul Negoescu (Romania), Josť Luis Cienfuegos (Spain), Marco Spagnoli (Italy), Neil Young (UK) and Krzysztof Kwiatkowski (Poland). Anong the five nominees, the member of the Academy will vote for the winner, to be presented at the Award Ceremony on December 13, 2014, in Riga, the Latvian capital.

Klaus Eder in Bucharest.
Klaus Eder

Romanian Film Critics Present a Special Award to Klaus Eder. The annual awards of the Romanian Film Critics' Association were presented during the elegant gala of the Awards 2013 of Romanian Filmmakers, held in Bucharest on May 5. Initiated in 2001 to promote and encourage professionalism in film criticism, the Romanian Critics' Awards praised, at this edition, writers and artists.
    The Award "Ion Cantacuzino" for journalism was given to Irina Trocan, while Dominique Nasta received the Award "George Littera" for the book "Contemporary Romanian Cinema — The History of an Unexpected Miracle" (Wallflower/Columbia University Press).
    Following a poll of its members, the Romanian Film Critics' Association also awarded prizes for: Best Movie (Child's Pose, also winner of the main prize of the Filmmakers' Union Awards), Best Director (Călin Peter Netzer for Child's Pose), Best Actress (Luminiţa Gheorghiu for Child's Pose) and Best Actor (Victor Rebengiuc for The Japanese Dog by Tudor Cristian Jurgiu).
    Proposed by the Romanian Film Critics' Association, Klaus Eder, General Secretary of FIPRESCI, was offered the title of "Honorary Member of the Romanian Filmmakers' Union" and the UCIN trophy. The motivation, presented by Dana Duma, emphasized Klaus Eder's remarkable activity in film criticism and in organizing the critics' international federation. "Since 1987 till now he was General Secretary of FIPRESCI and, in this capacity, he constantly fought to safeguard the professionalism and the dignity of film criticism. The international prestige Romanian cinema has acquired in the last decade owes a lot to his work, as provided by the FIPRESCI awards our movies won in various film festivals."
    Klaus Eder presented, the next day, at the National University of Theatre and Cinema, a much appreciated master class entitled "In Heaven ... or in Hell. How Festivals Can Foster or Destroy Careers and Films".

Schwerin. At the 24th Schwerin Film Festival ("filmkunstfest Mechlenburg-Vorpommern", May 6-11, 2014), film critics from German-language countries formed a jury and decided the best film in competition: Anderswo by Ester Amrami (Germany, 2014). Jury members were Carola Fischer (Switzerland), Erika Richter (Germany), and Thomas Taborsky (Austria). Print source: Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen "Konrad Wolf", Marlene-Dietrich-Allee 11, D-14482 Potsdam-Babelsberg, T: +49 331 6202-110. See



more news

news – summary
bullet. Berlinale Talents 2015

Talent Press Workshops
button. Sarajevo 2013
button. Durban 2013
button. Tallinn 2013
button. Berlin 2014