Fipresci Home the international federation of film critics  
  about us | festival reports | awards | undercurrent   contact | site map 
home > about us > board

the board

To know how board members are elected or appointed, please consult our statutes.

If you wish to contact a board member by e-mail, please address your request to
and specify to whom your mail should be forwarded.
Or use the address

about us – the board

Honorary Presidents:
   Michel Ciment, Derek Malcolm, Marcel Martin,
   Lino Micciché (1934–2004), Andrei Plakhov, Jean Roy.

Honorary Vice-President:
   Dan Fainaru.

Honorary Members:
   Marco Fiore, Felice Laudadio.

Advisory Committee:
   to follow

Alin Tasciyan, Turkey

Gyorgy Karpati, Hungary
Dana Linssen, The Netherlands

General Secretary
Klaus Eder, Germany

Anne Brishoual, France/Germany

Directors of Department
Leo Bankersen, The Netherlands (Membership Affairs)
Pamela Biénzobas, Chile (Grand Prix — Best Film of the Year)
Carlos Brandao, Brazil (Film History, Film Museums)
Barbara Lorey, France (Promotion of FIPRESCI Awarded Films)
Philippe J. Maarek, France (Legal Affairs)
Hassouna Mansouri, Tunisia (Arab and African Affairs)

Special Missions
Michel Ciment, Rui Tendinha, Grégory Valens

Alin Tasciyan.

Alin Tasciyan was born in 1969 in Istanbul. She graduated from the University of Istanbul with a BA in journalism and public relations (1991). She began to work for the "Milliyet Art Review" and the "Milliyet" daily newspaper in 1992. During the 16-year period at this media group she has been a correspondent, film critic and editor of the "Milliyet Art Review". Meanwhile, she made various cinema programs for the "Turkish Radio and Television" (TRT 2) cultural channel, including "Magic of Cinema", which screened almost 500 classic films over ten years. She programmed and presented the "Thematic Films Ribbon" for the "News Channel 24" between 2007 and 2012. She has been a critic and a columnist for the "Star" daily newspaper since 2008. She has been an adviser and programmer for many film festivals in Turkey. She has served in several national and international film festival juries. She is a member of the European Film Academy and president of the Turkish Film Critics' Association (SIYAD).

Dana Linssen.Dana Linssen is a film critic and writer from the Netherlands. After her Philosophy Studies at the University of Amsterdam she started writing film criticism for the Dutch daily newspaper "NRC Handelsblad" in 1997 and became editor in chief and later co-publisher of the Dutch independent monthly film magazine "de Filmkrant" ( in 1998. Currently, she combines these two jobs with a part-time post as a lecturer of film history and analysis at "ArtEZ Theatre Academy" in Arnhem. She is a regular contributor to cultural radio programs such as "AVRO's Opium Radio" and "Radio 1 Journaal" for Dutch national radio. In 2009, she founded the "Slow Criticism" project, an initiative of de Filmkrant to explore new forms of film criticism in a changing time, to give a counterbalance against the commodification of film criticism and encourage personal and wayward forms of expression. In 2009, she was also the recipient of the "Louis Hartlooper Prize" for Film Journalism and the first critic to be awarded the Festival Trophy of the International Film Festival Assen | Women & Film.

György Kárpáti. György Kárpáti (born 1979) holds a PhD in communication and is an assistant professor at Budapest's Pazmany Peter Catholic University within the Institute of Communication and Media Sciences. He teaches courses within the field of communication as well as film. He is the regular film critic and correspondent of "Magyar Nemzet", Hungary's second biggest national daily. He is the vice president of FIPRESCI and the secretary of the Hungarian Society of Film Critics. He has participated in FIPRESCI juries around the world including Palm Springs, Montreal, Moscow, Kerala, Yerevan, Kyev, Torino and Geneve. He has authored and published several books (Grindhouse: The Forbidden Era of Filmhistory, essay book, 2007; In Genre – Genre History, essay book, 2008) and has written many articles for journals and magazines focusing on film and cinema.

Klaus Eder.Klaus Eder. Born 1939 in the German city of Augsburg, he studied German literature at Stuttgart university. He has been working as film critic from the mid 60s, mainly for the national radio station "Bayerischer Rundfunk" and for German language film magazines. He has written books about, among others, Andrzej Wajda, Luis Bunuel, Nikita Mikhalkov and Andrei Konchalovski, Arturo Ripstein, Im Kwon-taek and Nagisa Oshima; and two books together with Alexander Kluge. From 1986–2007 he was programmer of the Munich International Film Festival. He has been an adviser for a variety of festivals and has served as General Secretary of FIPRESCI since 1987. He lives and works in Munich, Germany.



more about us

Bullet about us
Bullet board
Bullet national sections
Bullet statutes
Bullet jury regulations
Bullet history